Distress ~v~ Copics

As promised I’m back today with the copic version of my card from yesterday..

You might say…
I thought you used the same image and papers? why do they look so different then?
The papers are from the same MME Bella, bella pad only the blue section..
This pad is my alltime favorite at the moment and I can’t stop using it!!

Tilda has been stamped onto SU! whisper white with Memento tuxedo black
and coloured with Copic Sketch markers.

So… what about the difference??

My thoughts on this are as follows:

COPICS:

* Quick to apply
* Harder to blend
* Large colour choice [well over 300]
* Can be used with airgun for backgrounds
* Are a bit pricey [specially if you want them all!]
* Makes you feel like a kid colouring
* Easy storage

DISTRESS INKS:

* Easy to blend, little mistakes are easy to rectify
* More intense colours when applied in several layers
* Colour choice more restricted [24]
* Makes me feel like an artist instead of ‘kids play’
* Reasonable price for inks [or re-inkers]
* Good paper & brushes make all the difference, these are expensive!
* Easy storage

Conclusion???

I like working with both mediums,
I don’t think I’ve got a favorite and enjoy both in their own way.
I’m afraid you can expect to see projects in Copics or Inks on my blog for a while to come!😉

Please let me know what you think.. love to compare notes =)

*****

For those of you that are new to Distress inks I’ve got a tutorial on how I use them
You can find it HERE,
It is quite an old one but hoping to update it when I have a few spare hours.

*****

I would like to wish each and every one of you a very happy Easter!
Have fabulous family time & lots of chocolate!!

Big hugs,

MARLENE xx


29 responses to “Distress ~v~ Copics

  • Kirsten Alicia

    Good morning Marlene, this is another gorgeous card & it’s great to see the same image coloured differently. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on both Copics & Distress Inks. I’m looking forward to getting some of the inks & having a go with them. Happy Easter to you.

  • sarah

    I love my promarkers and copics, not tried distress inks but am going to try , Hugs Sarah B X
    PS: Love the card, upto your usual fab standard
    Happy easter

  • Tara

    Lovely to see two styles of colouring Marlene, thanks ;o) You are fab at both techniques but I think the Distress Inks has just edged it for me as you’ve created so much depth in the shading! I’m not brave enough to have a go with these though and always stick to my trusted pencils these days!!
    Have a great easter, hugs Tara xx

  • Mina

    would have to be distress inks for me Marlene and the new 12 inks are the best colours ever and have increased the colours a lot, I have copics too but always go to my DI’s maybe they make me feel like an artist lol…both stunning coloured images and lush papers though…thanks for joining in with the Just Magnolia challenge
    Mina xxx

  • Jacqueline

    Ook deze is weer prachtig!
    Wat je ook gebruikt, copics of distress, bij jou is het altijd super mooi.
    Groetjes van Jacqueline

  • Erika

    I love both versions Marlene and like playing with both inks and copics…..I agree with you feel more adult playing with inks and brushes rather than colouring in with copics….having said that I like the speed of copics. Also like water colour/prisma’s, and their subtle colour, but they take soooo long and time is not always in great supply! :-0

    Are you egg hunting tomorrow? Hoppity hop hop. xxxx
    Have fun.

  • Jane

    Hmmm, I’m so glad you posted this Marlene, I’m having this very same quandry myself LOL! I started with Copics and now love distress inks and have been trying to decide which I like best but still keep using both as I just can’t choose! Your colouring in both is stunning and I love the gorgeous papers you’ve used! hugs, Jane xxx

  • Jorunn

    They both look amazing, and your coloring skills are perfect with both the mediums!!
    Me too love them both, and will use them both, but I often grab my copics since they are faster!

    I think the Copics are pretty easy to blend and to correct an error… using the blender of course and also the right card stock, that allow the ink to stay wet a little while…

    The card is just amazing!!! Looove the design and the colors!!!
    So happy to see you back in the scraproom again!
    You are just a huge source of inspiration!!

    Happy Easter!
    hugs,
    Jorunn

  • Diane W

    All your cards are fab & a joy to look at,either or for me!!! :o)x

  • Anki

    Love them both sweetie! Have a lot of Distress inks – but can anyone please give me some time – so I get to play with them. Love copics as well – but as you say – it´s expensive and you always need all of them – right…

    Have a wonderful Easter with your family and tons of eggs😉

    Kramis – Anki

  • Sandie

    Both are just fantastic!! Your colouring is exceptional no matter what you use🙂

    I love both of these mediums too.. but my problem is getting card suitable for using with copics. Anything I’ve picked up in town lets the colour bleed and it horribly expensive to have Neenah card shipped here.

    And i totally agree on the MME Bella pad, it has the most wonderful papers ever!!

  • Toni

    I love copics and have distress inks but need to play with them
    thats a thought though playtime I will find the time lol !!!

  • Sandra

    I have admired and enjoyed your work for a long time … and you have switched to the other side! LOL – I thought it was great you were producing these BEAUTIFUL works of art with the Distress Inks – gave me hope I would not have to buy the Copics to produce beautiful projects.
    Thank you.
    I am glad you found a new toy to play with, but don’r forget your Distress Inks!
    Happy Easter!
    Sandra

  • Jo Nevill

    Wow, I love both and your colouring is always so perfect. I think different images look better with different mediums and Tilda’s suit distress inks very much. Personal preference but both are super. I like a change every so often !

    Enough waffling ? Yes, I reckon so. Fill my mouth with another egg !!!

    Have a fabby weekend.

    Hugs,

    Jo xxx

  • cassandra

    Hi Marlene, I have just stumbled accross your blog. Fantastic work. I was wondering if you have heard of Suzanne J Dean? She is a certifieed Copic Instructor. She has a blog with video tutorials on it that show how to use Copic Markers to look like Distressed ink images. They are fantastic and have helped me with my colouring. Both DI and Copics have there pro’s and con’s I spose if you have both you can colour to suit your mood. Incase you want it Suzanne’s blog is http://www.scrapbitz.blogspot.com :o)

  • MarjaS

    Wat een geweldige kaart Marlene.

    Dit stempeltje is ook mijn favoriete paasstempeltje omdat je het voor allerlei gelegenheden kan gebruiken. Ik had het kleuren met copics eerder onder de knie. Voor het inkleuren met distress inkt heb ik pas een workshop gevolgd bij Aniet.
    http://anita-izendoorn.blogspot.com/

    Nu lukt het me een stuk beter ook omdat ik nu het goede papier heb. Groetjes en Fijne Pasen Marja

  • Nanda

    It is nice to see two different mediums next to each other. I like coloring with the copics but also with distress ink (and also with Karisma pencils and watercolor pensils and chalk etc. I like alot). I notice that when I didn’t use my distress ink for a whyl that I need to practice again using it. But I like to use them too. On the internet I see so many beautifull colord images that I want to learn to color that way too. But now I am learning how to color with my copics and use them alot.

  • Poppet

    I love them both too, i have the re inkers and have only had the one goo!! i know hang my head in shame, i need a tut on these, the copics are fast but i do love the look of inks better, but then i love all your cards lol. Happy Easter hugs Pops x

  • sue

    Hi Hun
    gorgeous card, fabby colouring as always, beautiful papers, i have only had one go a painting with distress inks but enjoyed it, need lost more practice with them, copics nice n quick, pencils i luv can blend better but takes me much longer to colour an image. will check out your tutorial, thanks hun, sue,xx

  • Heather

    They are both beautiful. I also love MME paper. Always a good choice. I don’t have a favorite between Copic’s or distressing either just depends on my mood as to which I pick up. I always love the beautiful inspiration on your blog!!

  • Elizabeth

    Alle twee schitterende kaarten!! Mij gaat het inkleuren met Copics( hoev. kleuren) wat makkelijker als met Distress inkt. Ik ben toen begonnen nav. jouw tutorail. maar nu met de nieuwe kleuren erbij heb je wat meer keuze qua kleur en ga ik het denk ik toch eens wat meer gebruiken..

  • ~ Ali ~

    Wow another stunner Marlene. Mmm now I can’t decide. I always loved your DI colouring but you colour so well with the copics too. I have so many differnet mediums lol kept buying them realised its me its not good at colouring and not the mediums doh. I just need to keep practicing I suppose. Thakn you as laways sweetie for fab inspiration. Wishing you and yours a very Happy Easter. Mwah. Hugs Ali x

  • Bev

    I never thought I would say this but …… I prefer the Copics lol. What a inks traitor I am. Both cards are superb sweetie but the Copics colouring just has the edge for me x

  • ngcards

    Oh this is gorgeous, I think I prefer this colour way. I have to say I am a copics fanatic but I do have a couple of distress inks🙂 xxx

  • Janneke

    Super mooie kaart Marlene😀

    Ik vind het ook heerlijk om Distress te gebruiken, maar ik pak nog steeds (te) vaak mijn potloden. Kleuren met de Copics gaat ook steeds beter en daaraan ben ik inmiddels ook verslaafd aan😉

    Heel fijn paas weekend😉

    Janneke X

  • Elaine

    Hi Marlene,
    I love how you colour with both mediums. I love how the copics produce much brighter and bold colours, but I also love the depth you can create with distress inks.
    I have tried copics and given up, I just cannot get used to them, so I’ve always coloured with Polychromo pencils but I cannot find the right mix of colours for flesh.
    Following your help and advice with the type of paper, I now colour with Distress inks, and although I’m nowhere near as expert as you, I am pleased with the results.
    You say in your post that you’ve tried some new watercolour paper, can I ask what the paper is please?
    Best wishes
    Elaine xx

  • karine

    Hé Marlene ,

    wat een prachtige kaartjes terug en eerlijk gezegd zou ik niet weten welk ik mooier vindt… misschien toch maar de copics . dank je wel voor de uitleg voor het gebruik van de ink tot nu toe wist ik niet hoe ik die nog kon gebruiken . zodra ik terug kaartjes kan maken test ik dit zeker uit !!!!

    groetjes Karine

  • Dawny P

    Hi chick. Well I love them both of course, but I think I might edge towards the Copics. But thank you for doing this chick – it’s always interesting to compare. I hope you are all having a fab Easter. Huggiest of hugs and speak soon, xxx

  • carole

    They are both amazingly coloured Marlene. I think I prefer copics…though I do like the look of the distress inks.
    Hugs
    Carole x

Leave a Reply

