Great Saturday!!

First day of the holidays.. Jake has gone on a schooltrip to France, so it’s just me and the girls this weekend!

So today we made a day of it and took the dog to Coombe Abbey park this morning and took my camera to take some autumn piccies 🙂

We went to the cinema around lunch and seen High School Musical 3.. which was fab, Cherise and Laurelle totally enjoyed it, this just ment a non-stop singing session all afternoon from the both of them!!

I also found out this morning that I won last weeks Basic Grey challenge… YAY! soo thrilled!!

Loving this week’s theme too.. so will get my thinking cap on 🙂

 

Only a few more sleeps until Caz and Georgia come for a visit.. can’t wait!!! and I’ve also managed to book a little trip to Holland at the beginning of November to see all my family!!

While I am in Holland.. guess what??  There is a big craft show [KreaDoe] in Utrecht!!

So I’ll definately be going with my mum & sister.. probably on Friday 7th, So.. if any of my Dutch blogfriends are going to be there.. please mail me!!!  Would love to meet up if at all possible *Ü*

 

Now.. on to my project for today.. and I had to use Elizabeth’s Partridge in a pear tree image from SugarNellie

Wanted to make this super adorable new image into an acetate card, but the acetate I had to hand is just too thin to be used on its own so I’ve made a sleeve instead, you can’t see it very well on the photo.

 

Stamped onto the acetate with white stazon ink, accented with red stickles and let dry, coloured the main image with distress inks [you can check out my tutorial here] and cut out an oval with the tree as the main focus.

 

Stamped the image again, coloured and cut out the girl and the gift + teddy and 3D’d them onto the image, overlapping the oval.

 

Really pleased how this turned out but will try and get some better acetate to make a clear card 🙂

The insert is stamped with a pear & apple border (bargain find at £1!) and also a mini pear tree stamp from Anita’s

Even the back panel is decorated.. no wonder this card took me an age to do.. lol

Right, I’m going to finish watching Strictly and X-Factor,

Hugs,  Marlene xx


46 responses to “Great Saturday!!

  • Linda Hyldahl

    What a lovely card Marlene – it’s absolutely wonderful. No wonder you liked High School Musical III – I saw it yesterday with my niece and nephew and we all thought it was great. Have a nice weekend 🙂 Linda

  • Ria

    Ah this is Beautifull Marlene, Congrats on your winning the Basic grey challenge 😉

    BTW where in Holland are you going to stay? I don’t know if I can manage to go to the Kreadoe this year. I need a puppysit 😉 hahahahaa

    hugs Ria

  • Deb Wood

    Your girls are beautiful, sounds like you had a wonderful day!! Congrats on winning the challenge!! This card is gorgeous!

  • Anki

    Your girls are sooo cute! Just like their mom ;-)) Hope you are having a fab Saturday evening and what a great card you made again. You’ve been really busy after your trip. I hope to be able to create some new cards tomorrow when one of my friends are coming over for some cardmaking.
    Windy regards from Sweden,
    Anki

  • Roz

    The card is gorgeous, and your two girls are beautiful, that is a lovely photo of them together.

    Love Roz

  • Riet

    o wat mooi Marlene ,ik zit echt met open mond tekijken, schitterendddddd.
    veel liefs Riet.

  • annie

    Wow Marlene! what a fabulous card and I love the image – and just ordered it along with a couple of others .. .. love the white swirls on the acetate with the red glitter dots, and of course the beautifully coloured image. hugs, annie x

  • Sonia

    Wow what an amazing day you have had and am amzing card 🙂
    I would love to be able to colour like you.
    Hugs Sonia x

  • Jules

    Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic xxx

  • Alison

    Marlene this is absolutely stunning!

  • Sarah

    A fantastic card! You never stop suprising me with your creations! BTW you have two beautiful daughters.
    xx :0)

  • Jill

    aww your daughters are just so beauitful Marlene, must take after their mummy. gorgeous card and beautiful colouring as always Jill x

  • lia

    hoi marlene,
    deze kaart is weer zo mooi en fijntjes echt geweldig,
    groetjes lia

  • Jo

    A stunning card, I love the stamped acetate, I must have a go at this – I just need some white Stazon !

    Many congrats for winning the BasicGrey challenge this week, what a fantastic theme it was. Hope to see you back again this week !

    Jo x

  • Diane W

    Beautiful card & so much detail!
    Congratulations on winning BG!!!
    Your girls are very pretty :o)x

  • Linda

    Oh Marlene, your girls are just so beautiful!! they obviously take after their mother! and what a gorgeous card, these new Sugar Nellie images are adorable, i love daisy and wasn’t sure about this stamp, now seeing what you’ve done with it, I do want it!! thank you for that!?! hugs linda x

  • Heather x

    this is so beautiful Marlene, love the light colour choice, though unfamilliar surrounded by your usual darker colour choices, it is still awesome :0)
    **Hugs** Heather x

  • Bev

    Utterly exquisite Marlene – a work of art!!!

    Love the picture of your girls, they are such beautiful girls

    hugs Bev x

  • Barbara Hagerty

    Your card is absolutely GORGEOUS, and your daughters are adorable! Congratulations on winning the Basic Grey prize!! Your blog is beautiful!!

  • Kelly S

    Oh my goodness, this is amazing Marlene!! So beautiful…as are your girls!! Kelly

  • Elisabeth Bell

    Marlene!!!

    Your girls look soooo much like you, they are beeyootiful!! And oh, your card is TO DIE FOR. Omigoodness, not only did I start hyperventilating, I actually STOPPED breathing when I saw your stunner design!!!

    LOL! Ok, just kidding. 😛 But wow, chica. You. Are. Sensational.

    LYTP!!!!!

    Elisabeth xx

  • Heather

    What beautiful girls 🙂 Made me smile too!!!

    I love your card it is marvellous 🙂

  • debby4000

    Just caught up with your posts, glad to see you had a great time in Venice and loving all your new cards, have a great weekend.

  • Leonie

    Prachtige kaart Marlene! Ik ga op zaterdag naar de KreaDoe, jammer!! Ik hoop dat je een leuke tijd hebt in Nederland!!

    groetjes Leonie

  • Karen Bruce

    Wow Marlene, this card is amazing – absolutely stunning. I love what you have done with the swirls and dots on the background. I have never tried a card with acetate, but you have done a fab job here.

    Karen x

  • Poppet

    Your girls are gorgeous and look so much like you, Shaleise love both their names, she said she likes different names, and obviously so do i…
    I love the card to hun, the image is great and the sleeve looks like somthing you would find in a posh shop, fantastic…

    Love Pops x x x

  • jacqui

    I am awestruck this is fantabulous I love everything about this little masterpiece
    Hugs Jacqui x

  • Jorunn

    OMG!!!
    It`s been a while since I`ve had the time to go bloghoping, and I`ve been scrolling up and down just amazed once again, over your fabulous cards!!!
    Love the coloring, and the colors and of course the design and details too!!!

    hugs,
    Jorunn

  • Katharina

    WOW Marlene, wonderful and heavenly. Love the idea with the acetate. And the swirls go perfectly with the cute motive!
    Katharina xx

  • Donalda

    What beautiful girls dear!!!!!! They are just darling. Your card is just gorgeous dear I so love what you have done to it. But your work is always gorgeous dear

  • jakki

    lovely card really pretty I haven’t inked this one yet.

  • deb

    thank you for your visits and kind words, I am just back from holiday and haven’t started on the paintwork yet, that will be this week!
    Your photograph of the girls is beautiful, so glad you are all having a fun weekend! hope you have a great trip to Holland too!
    Your card is fabulous as always, love the acetate sleeve and the beautiful image, have just ordered this one (along with some others) so looking forward to them arriving!
    I have really enjoyed catching up with your blog, such beautiful creations and your birthday treat looked wonderful, Venice is such a romantic city, how perfect for your getaway!
    Hope you have a great half term!

  • Christa

    Wauwwwwwwwww wat een geweldige kaart Marlene en wat een leuke meiden heb jij!!
    Ik weet nog niet of ik naar de KreaDoe ga … maar laat het anders zeker ff weten hoor!
    Ik wens je wel alvast veel plezier in Holland … hihihi
    xxx Christa

  • Tiets

    OOoo ik ga op woendagggggg ooo zou leuk zijn je dan te ontmoeten Marlene!! en gaaf je kaartjes ,wat zijn de stempels weer super hé..hopelijk vallen ze komende week op mijn mat!
    Liefs Tiets

  • Mandi

    I LOVE coombe abbey park and I LOVE staying at Coombe Abbey. That’s where hubby and I had our honeymoon (just a long weekend) and it’s where we go back to every anniversary…..Hope you and yours are well….just catching up with your gorgeous cards….
    Much Love
    Mandi

  • Nikki

    What a gorgeous photo of your beautiful girls. We loved HSM too and I even blubbed in places! Your card is stunning as always. So glad to read you won last weeks Basic Grey Challenge too, Hugs, Nikki x

  • carole

    Love your card Marlene…your girls are so beautiful…have a great week!
    Hugs
    Carole 😀

  • Helena

    Fantastic photo, I too went to see HSM3 Saturday, what fun, lol!!!

    Congrads on the win!!!

    Beautiful card, I love the colours and brightness of the card, the acetate work is fantastic!

    xxxx

  • Jeanette C

    What a gorgeous card Marlene. I really like how you cut the little girl away from the rest. It is a wonderful idea. Hugs Jeanette

  • Anki

    Just me again! Hope you had a great weekend. Too bad that it’s working week already….. Well – I just had to tell you that ther is a Scandinavian web-magazine coming up – Dec 1st. Just got the news from talented Aija – she is going to be one of the DTs – so I know it’s going to be great. There is a link on my blog so you’ll find it easily. Have fun and don’t work to much – you need some more time for cardmaking…hihi……
    Kramis – Anki

  • Eli O. Moen

    Holy macaroni, this is a werry cute card, Marlene. I like it so much. I have use some overlays at my Christmas card too, it so nice to work whit overlays ore acetat

  • Judy

    your girls are so like you! They have lovely smiles! I love that cute image and the overlay is a lovely detail. I’m wating for my new S.N.’s to arrive! Can’t wait!

    Judy x

  • Renata

    Geweldig leuk kaartje weer! Veel plezier op de KreaDoe trouwens, ik ga donderdag maar na een paar reacties op je blog durf ik mij toch nog geen blogfriend te noemen 😉

    Fantastische foto van je meiden, ze zijn echt fotogeniek!

    Hartelijke groet, Renata

  • Ila

    Your card is So Beautiful Marlene!! I love the embossing and Fabulous dimension!!
    Your girls are both beautiful!!…and it sounds like you all had a lovely day..TFS!!…Hugs, Ila

  • chatdoro

    c’est superbe, tes réas sont trop trop belles, very very wonderful. bises chatdoro

  • Louise

    WOW absolutley stunning card and love the idea for the acetate jacket.

Leave a comment