Sugar Bowl ~52~ Love

Good morning and welcome to a brand spanking new challenge from the
SUGAR BOWL.

Maria Therese has provided the lovely sketch for you all to use
and the optional theme is ‘Love’

Once again there is a fabulous prize up for grabs,
a pic & mix of 6 Sugar Nellie stamps of your choice..
and what with some fabby new ones in stock you’ll be spoilt for choice!!
But .. wait for it!
There are going to be 2 winners this fortnight, 6 stamps each!!

***

On to my card:
I finally got around to inking up this yummie stamp ‘Worried
and stamped him in brown onto water colour paper.
Took a waterbrush and smudged some of the lines of the image.

I then scored vertical lines all over the image,
and inked the edges with distress inks.

The other background papers I also made myself
by using the embossed white papers by SU!,
sponged distress inks all over,
this really makes the embossed patterns stand out.

Huge silk bow threaded through the image finishes off the card a treat.

As always.. please visit the blog for all the details
and gain lots of inspiration from my DT Sweeties

***

On another note..

I’ve decided to alter my ATG yesterday.
I took the tape wheels off and covered up the bit’s I didn’t want painting with masking tape.

Then sprayed on the first layer with plastic compatible paint.. looking gooood!
I wanted to do 3 coats and had to wait an hour between each one..
Then 24 hrs for the last coat to totally set.
Talk about watching paint dry!

When the 3rd coat was on,
I quickly nipped out to take Lolly to brownies and when I got back hubby only decided to have a clean up and chucked the whole caboodle to one side ready to be skipped!!

Needless to say all the tacky paint was scoffed & scratched..
tell you, I was about to kill him!

Will have to wait till this evening,
sand down as much as I can and start again..
with hopefully no interfering hubby’s about!

Hugs, Marlene x


27 responses to “Sugar Bowl ~52~ Love

  • Sinikka

    Wauw….dat is een mooie kaart. Super dat je ook het papier zelf hebt gemaakt. Het ziet er giga goed uit.
    Gr. Sinikka

  • Caz

    That card is simply stunning….wish I had ordered him the other day now…..will have to add him to my next order. Ok, so now I understand the downside of having a hubby with a cleaning OCD…..I bet you can salvage it….or make him buy you the pink one!
    Caz
    x

  • Sian

    Gorgeous card, love the colours and the stamping.
    Naughty DH, go and sit in the naughty corner!
    big hugs

  • Erika

    Oooo loving how you’ve made your card Marlene and the bow just finishes it off beautifully. Stunning. As for the hubby incident….men just don’t get it!!
    Mine can be like that too but he has learnt not to touch anything in my craftroom….it is kept deliberately untidy!!

  • SannaS

    GORGEOUS card!!! Love the monochromatic look!! Absolutely brilliant!! =)
    Hugs, SannaS

  • AndreaJB

    Your card is stunning – love the way you have made your own bp and embossed on the image.
    Sorry to hear about your hubby incident – hope you manage to salvage the ATG – sure you will!
    Love, Andrea xx

  • Dena

    Marlene, what a cool idea!!! Love the look of your card!! You are one clever crafter!!!
    Hugs, Dena

  • Jennifer

    Adorable! My fave stamp too. Nice work! xx Jenny xx

  • ~ Ali ~

    Scrumptious card MArlene and naughty hubby why was he in your carft space….no men alllowed lol.

    Ali x

  • Kiki

    Wow, Marlena, again a fantastic creation. The image si soooooo adorable. Great job!

    Hugs, Kiki

  • Tracey Brossart

    Absolutely stunning card! I so wish I was brave enough to go out of my comfort zone of card creating and try distressing and inking like that. Wonderful!

    And about you ATG gun…I would have been so upset with the hubs too…lol! By the way that is awesome that you’re altering it! What color are you going to paint it? I never thought of doing something like that, I would paint mine purple…lol!

    ƸӜƷ…x♥Tracey♥x…ƸӜƷ

  • Jane

    OMG this is incredible Marlene!!! I loved it immediately from the little picture in my blog roll but now I’ve seen it full size with the scoring on the image I love it even more!!! What an amazing idea! I would have gone crazy if my hubby did that too!!! (which he probably would do LOL) Hope you manage to salvage it as I can’t wait to see what you have planned for it! hugs, Jane xxx

  • Anki

    Simply stunning sweetie! You’re amazing as always. Kramis

  • Renata van Miltenburg

    Hé vriendinnetje! Hoestie? Wat staan er weer een ongelooflijk mooie kaartjes op je blog, het blijft een feestje om daar af en toe op mijn gemak door heen te wandelen! Echt plaatjes.

    Liefs, Renata

  • michele spera

    Lovely job on your card Marlene! I really love how the red ribbon stands out on this! It’s really nice:-)
    Sorry to hear about your Atg gun, hopefully the smudges will be able to be fine sanded:-(
    Hugs
    Michele

  • Teresa

    Just love this card. Especially how the ribbon is threaded. Love the colors…very striking!! Hugs, Teresa

  • Juls

    this is beautiful, love the embossing, the soft sepia tones and the beautiful vintage feel! Hugs Juls

  • Maria Therese

    Oh your card is so sweet soft and gorgeous!!!

  • Kristie

    Oh I love this!! The image is adorable and the red bow really sets off the card.

  • Tash Daly

    Lovely card, this colouring is so beautiful. Such a cute image…I’m off to sugar nellie to check it out. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  • Tash Daly

    Teehee sorry me again, did not realise that there was an option for site updates. Thanks 🙂

  • cathy

    This is absoloutely stunning. I lvoe that little boy, and the vintage effect you have created really brings out the stamp. I’m going to have a go at this technique. Love the huge red bow too, it sets the card off perfectly.
    Hugs
    Cathy xx

  • Elaine

    Fabulous Marlene.
    Striking, stunning and…perfect actually.
    I absolutely LOVE this card.

    Hugs Elaine xx

  • Gina L

    This card is gorgeous. I love the effect it gives the stamp. I am definitely going to try it! Thanks so much for the inspiration.

  • Linda Slattery

    Your card is simply striking!! Beautiful without too much fussiness. This stamp is also a fav of mine, but I do not own it yet. Maybe someday. Love the pics of your kitties.

  • Pat Frank

    Oh Marlene…this is simply STUNNING, love…absolutely gorgeous! I just love the sepia-tone coloring…and the pops of red are just perfect!! I love it! Pat

Leave a comment